Todo com Paciência y Técnica

Ola!

Yesterday’s class was awesome.  We’ve done this type of class once several months ago, probably the summer.  We worked all stand up techniques and all of them had to do with closing the distance between you and an attacker.

The techniques are a little too complicated for me to explain effectively here so I’ll skip that part, but it was great to go over these REALLY important techniques.  If you’re in a fight on the street this is something you may have to do.  The Gracies do it to great effect in the “Gracie in Action” DVDs.

The key is to be patient and use technique (hence the title of this post).  I did really well although there is always room for improvement.  Some of the techniques that lead to a takedown could use a lot of work.  I tend to not land the right way and there was one technique where you hang your weight on your attacker’s waist to bring him down onto his back.  You’re supposed to tuck your arm in and roll over it instead of landing on your forearm which is just a natural reaction I have.  That’s not good because it’s only OK to do that on the mats.  You do that on the street and you’ll get a broken arm.

We worked on all these techniques for a solid hour and then did a unique drill for this type of training.  3 guys got MMA gloves on and the rest of the class lined up.  If you were on the wall your goal was to close the distance to a clinch twice.  No take downs or attacks, just close the distance and that’s it.  The attacker’s job was to strike at you (obviously not to the point of killing your opponent).

I did…OK with it.  I needed to be more patient.  There were a few times where I actually went after my attacker instead of making him chase me.  And one instance I didn’t time it correctly and took a hit to the side of the head that had it been a real fight would have taken my head off.

Then, our instructor called the end of class and we went into open mat mode.  I partnered up with WB Nick and went for 8 minutes.  He didn’t get me, but I didn’t get him either.  He was playing the spazzy white belt with strength game so I just let him roll around and focused on defending myself.  No big deal, I think that’s actually useful training.

Then, I partnered up with WB Chris and after a few seconds of him in my guard I got on top and tapped him with a key lock.  We reset and I tapped him with a key lock from side mount.  That was it for me.  I was tired from staying up too late the night before and I felt I had gotten enough training in that I was good to go.

I’ll be training on Thursday this week because my band has a gig this Saturday.  Should be fun as PB Steve will be there.  Class is always better when he’s there.

Chau e bom dia!

Leave a comment