Ola!

Happy belated Thanksgiving.  Hope you had a good one.  My wife and I hosted for the first time ever and had 20 people at our house.  It was a process.  We’re still in recovery.

I’ve mentioned in previous posts about the up and down waves of BJJ and how they come out of no where and you have to fight through them.  I think I’ve also called those ups and downs peaks and valleys.  I’ve ridden the tops of past peaks with great exhilaration and dealt with the valleys as best I could.

Well, I just dived head first into the deepest valley I’ve faced so far and I still don’t think I’ve hit the bottom.  I basically can’t do BJJ correctly at all during my rolling sessions.  None of my techniques work.  I can’t pass a guard to save my life and forget about being under mount.

I can’t escape nor effectively defend against an attack.  I’m either too late or do it wrong and I’m done.  It’s really frustrating.  I’m not frustrated with being tapped.  It’s about me not doing things correctly that I know how to do.  To me there is just no excuse for that.

I’m in the process of breaking things down in my mind to figure out what I’m doing wrong.  It’s not easy.  Memory can be a difficult thing to depend on as you can suffer from biases and perception issue.  Not to mention that there is only so much detail you can remember.

I hope I can find at least one issue that I can focus on and fix out of the millions of issues I’m currently having.  Hopefully, you have had a better time training than me.

Chau e bom dia!

Leave a Reply

