Triangulo

Ola

Due to work and other commitments I was only able to train this past Saturday and it doesn’t look good for any training this week.  Blarg.

I don’t like missing class when the reason has to do with personal commitments versus work reasons.  I stupidly let my schedule get away from me.  The only good thing is that it’s just one week.  I’ll be back to 2 classes next week.

So after my trip to Oklahoma City I asked my instructor to help me with triangle defense techniques.  I got tapped like crazy by triangles, which told me that I need a LOT of work on them.  I think in part I got too comfortable with them being applied on me and me relying on Hail Mary moves to escape them.  Sure, that might work in the short term, but in the long term that strategy won’t pay off.

So we started right away on working on those techniques.  We went over everything in painstaking detail and this was necessary; especially for me.  I learned that there were a bunch of things I was doing wrong.

  1. I wasn’t reacting quick enough.  I was letting guys positioning themselves in such a way that with a little work they could close a triangle on me.
  2. I wasn’t maintaining my posture.  Basically, I was down so close to my opponents chest that I gave them the leverage to apply an even tighter triangle.
  3. I was using a guard pass technique as an escape from the triangle and that just doesn’t work.
  4. I was getting into a stupid tug-the-sleeve cuff game with my opponents, which distracted me.

So we first worked on how to position yourself the minute your opponent is setting himself up for the triangle.  When you break your opponents guard you will feel 1 of 2 things.  Either they will try to stop you from going to side mount or they will try to go for the triangle.  If you feel them trying to re-lock their legs then you need to immediately sit back on your heels.  You trap their one hip against your hip by bringing your elbow back to your thigh.  You also get your head and shoulders back.

It makes that position very tight and uncomfortable for the guy on bottom.  Basically he has to apply pressure to his feet and ankles to maintain the hold and after a while that’s really painful.

Finally, you collect your opponent into you, pulling him even closer.  You gather up your opponent’s opposite collar with the hand not controlling the hip and you stack them up onto their neck.  Here is where it differs from regular guard passing.

Instead of the typical guard pass where you come around to the side and apply pressure that way, you move straight where your looking your opponent in the eyes and your heads are aligned.  Make sure to keep your head up, which forces you to keep your hips down.  The downward pressure of your hips is what will make your opponent extremely uncomfortable and break his guard so that you can now proceed to side mount.  This of course accomplishes your goal of avoiding the triangle.

It sounds complicated and it really is.  There is a lot to remember.  Keep your head up.  Keep your hips down.  Make sure to control your opponent’s hip.  And so on and so forth.  We drilled that for an entire hour and 10 minutes.  Ouch.

An hour after the class I was already sore and it didn’t get better throughout the night.  By the next morning I was broken.  I couldn’t move and had to drop 2 Aleves before I was comfortable.  A lot of pain, but definitely worth it and now I will make triangle defense my priority for the next few months.

Hope you had a great weekend of training.

Chau e bom dia!

Leave a Reply

